clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Rule 39

New, comment

If you watched last night's game, you saw a flaw in the NHL's video replay rule. It's Rule 39 in the NHL rulebook.

The rule clearly explains what to do about time, especially after a goal:

"In the event that a video replay shows a goal was scored prior to the play being stopped, the Video Goal Judge will inform the Game Timekeeper and Official Scorer of the time of goal and the amount of playing time left to be reset on the game clock."

But what it doesn't cover is what happens *after* the goal was scored. In this case, Tomas Holmstrom's tip of Pavel Datsuyk's shot hit the back support bar and bounced right out. Moments after, Brian Rafalski was called for interference. The penalty was left on the board, but pushed back to the time of the goal.

That makes no sense. In theory, since time was placed back on the clock to the point the goal was scored, what happened after the goal was scored should have disappeared as well.

I'm sure it's happened, but you could have a situation where a goal was scored but not noted, the other team could go the other way and score, and both goals could appear at the same time on the score sheet.