clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Patrick Eaves Award Winner -- and more!


All of a sudden, things are looking up! After a pretty weak start, the Wings are starting to look like, well, the Wings. Some statistics to prove it:

The Winged Wheelers started the season by going 3-4-2 in the first nine games, on pace for 73 points. But, they are 7-1-1 in their last nine, and are now on pace for 105.

Before this week, Detroit had been outscored 47 - 43. Now, the tables have turned, and they're outscoring the opposition 61 - 52. 

The Wings are 5-0-1 when Saturday's hero Henrik Zetterberg scores a goal in regulation. He also leads the NHL in game-winning goals (4).

After the jump, more numbers, fake award updates, and our VERY FIRST WINNER!

Speaking of Z, he leads all scorers are home (7-6--13). Pavel Datsyuk is the top point producer on the road (3-7--10). Interestingly, Pavel is one of only four Red Wings in the minus at home. The others are Brad May, Brett Lebda, and Todd Bertuzzi.

The only players left in the minus are the injured Valtteri Filppula; superstar defensemen Brett Lebda, Derek Meech, and Jonathan Ericsson; and stellar off-season acquisitions Jason Williams, Todd Bertuzzi, and Brad May. 

Of all 24 skaters to suit up for the Wings, only Doug Janik has not been on the ice for a Red wings goal. He's also the only player who has not been on the ice for a goal against. 

SHOCKINGLY, Todd "Blind Spin-o-rama Pass" Bertuzzi leads all forwards in giveaways (15). He's followed by Datsyuk (12) and Z (10), but they're forgiven thanks to having 15 and 16 takeaways, respectively. 

Huzzah! Tomas Holmstrom is the only forward who hasn't taken a faceoff, proving that Mike Babcock values Brad May's prowess more than Homer's. 

ANNOUNCING THE FIRST FAKE AWARD WINNER! From this day forward, the Goodfellas Award, given to the final Red Wing to be penalized, will be known as the PATRICK EAVES AWARD. When Darren Helm was called for hooking on Wednesday, Patrick Eaves was the only player left to be penalized (excluding Drew Miller and Doug Janik). Alas, his reign as King in ZeroPim last less than three periods, as he was called for roughing the following night. BUT! For 24 glorious hours, Patrick Eaves stood alone. We're all looking forward to finding out the identities of future PATRICK EAVES AWARD winners. 

*Reserved for the final Red Wing to score a goal. The award is named for Aaron Downey, who scored his first (and only) goal as a Red Wing in his 60th (and final) game.*
A. Brad May
B. Derek Meech
NOT QUALIFIED: Drew Miller and Doug Janik

*Given at the year's end to the Red Wings defensemen with the fewest goals scored in the most games played. The player must have played in at least 3/4 of the team's games. The award is named for Chris Chelios, who scored 23 goals in his final EXACTLY 600 games as a Red Wing (regular season and playoffs).*
T1. Nicklas Lidstrom (1 goal in 18 games)
T1. Brad Stuart (1 goal in 18 games)
3. Brett Lebda (1 goal in 15 games) 
4. Brian Rafalski (2 goals in 17 games)
5. Jonathan Ericsson (3 goals in 16 games)
6. Niklas Kronwall (5 goals in 18 games)
NOT QUALIFIED: Derek Meech and Doug Janik

*Given at the year's end to the Red Wings forward with the most blocked shots. Award is named for Dan Cleary, who is used to becoming synonymous with "black eye" and/or "broken jaw."*
1. Dan Cleary (10)
T2. Darren Helm (9)
T2. Henrik Zetterberg (9)
4. Pavel Datsyuk (8)
T5. Todd Bertuzzi (6)
T5. Patrick Eaves (6)

*Given at the year's end to the Red Wing with the most games spent in the press box. Award is named for Derek Meech, who was a healthy scratch 35 times last season.*
1. Derek Meech (13)
2. Patrick Eaves (6)
3. Brad May (4)
4. Brett Lebda (3)
T5. Justin Abdelkader (2)
T5. Kirk Maltby (2)

*Given at the year's end to the Red Wings goaltender that makes you question how they're in the NHL and you aren't. Award is named for Greg Stefan, who played nine seasons for the Red Wings, but only three that had a goals against average under 4.*
1. Jimmy Howard (4-2-1, 2.84 GAA, .898 sv%)
2. Chris Osgood (6-3-2, 2.77GAA, .902 sv%)

*Given at the year's end to the Red Wings forward with the most shots to miss the net. Award is named for Mikael Samuelsson, who literally must have been aiming for the 11th row.*
1. Henrik Zetterberg (30)
2. Tomas Holmstrom (17)
3. Todd Bertuzzi (16)
4. Ville Leino (15)
5. Jason Williams (14)