clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Datsyuk Takes Byng and Selke, Lidstrom Leaves Empty Handed

Pavel Datsyuk took home both the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy and the Frank J. Selke Trophy during the annual NHL Awards ceremony tonight. 

Datsyuk took home his fourth consecutive Lady Byng Trophy, awarded to the player with the best sportsmanship and "gentlemanly conduct" on the ice. Pavel also took his second consecutive Selke Trophy, which is awarded to the best defensive forward. Although he missed out on the MVP to Alex Ovechkin, Pavel got to retain his title and respect throughout the league as both one of the classiest players and best defenders.

Nicklas Lidstrom lost out to Zdeno Chara in an effort to win his 7th Norris Trophy, making my writername a little sad on the inside. I'm still not really sold on Chara winning it but I wasn't old on Lidstrom winning over Gonchar last year either.

As the voting becomes available for the awards (if it does) then we'll post it in an update.