clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

A Wednesday version of Tuesday Numbers: On Shootouts

Since the Red Wings are always showing up late to games, I figured I'd do the same and show up late to Tuesday Numbers. This time, I'll take a look at the method by which the Red Wings lost both games this past weekend: the shootout. The Wings are notoriously bad in shootouts, and here's why...

The Wings have gone to Shootout 8 times, fewer than all but 9 teams. They are 3-5 once they get there. No team has gone to more skills competitions than the Boston Bruins (who are 6-6 in their 12). The Penguins are undefeated (in 6 attempts) in the shootout. 

Eight different players have taken shootout attempts for the Red Wings:
1. Pavel Datsyuk is 5-for-7 (71.4%)
2. Todd Bertuzzi is 2-for-4 (50%)
3. Henrik Zetterberg is 2-for-8 (25%)
4. Jason Williams is 1-for-3 (33%)
T5. Valtteri Filppula is 0-for-1 
T5. Patrick Eaves is 0-for-1
7. Ville Leino is 0-for-2
8. Dan Cleary is 0-for-3 and should never take another shootout attempt again

Jimmy Howard has faced 19 shootout attempts, stopping 13 (68.4%). Chris Osgood has faced 8, stopping 4 (50%). 

Sidney Crosby (BOOO!!!) leads the league with 5 shootout goals (in 6 attempts). 

Steven Reinprecht (WHOO???) has taken the most attempts (11) this season.

19 players have scored on each of their attempts this season: Michael "I Don't Practice" Santorelli (3 for 3); Shawn Horcoff, Jochen Hect, and PA Parenteau are all 2 for 2); Owen Nolan, Drew Doughty, Brent Seabrook, Niklas Hagman, Mika Pyorala, Brian Gionta, Chris Clark, Chris Kunitz, David Clarkson, Ryan Shannon, Jason Arnott, Justin Williams, Bryan Little, Vinny Prospal, and (WAIT FOR IT), Steve Ott

Anze Kopitar has scored three shootout goals in his 8 attempts. All three, however, were game deciding winners. 

And now it's time for your Fake Awards....


Games Played :: Todd Bertuzzi, Nicklas Lidstrom, Brad Stuart (49)
Goals :: Tomas Holmstrom (15)
Assists :: Pavel Datsyuk and Henrik Zetterberg (25)
Points :: Henrik Zetterberg (37)
+/- :: Nicklas Lidstrom (+18)
PIM :: Todd Bertuzzi (60)
Power Play Goals :: Tomas Holmstrom (7)
Shorthanded Goals :: Darren Helm (2)
Game Winning Goals :: Henrik Zetterberg (4)
Shots :: Henrik Zetterberg (155)
Shooting % :: Tomas Holmstrom (19.0%)
Time on Ice Average :: Nicklas Lidstrom (25:27)
Shifts Per Game :: Brad Stuart (29.4)
Faceoff % :: Pavel Datsyuk (56.5)
Faceoffs Taken :: Pavel Datsyuk (666)
Hits :: Justin Abdelkader (147)
Giveaways :: Brian Rafalski (48)
Takeaways :: Pavel Datsyuk (71)

*Given at the year's end to the Red Wings defenseman with the fewest goals scored in the most games played. The player must have played in at least 3/4 of the team's games. The award is named for Chris Chelios, who scored 23 goals in his EXACTLY 600 games as a Red Wing.*
1. Brett Lebda (1 goal, 46 games)
2. Brad Stuart (2 goals, 49 games)
3. Nicklas Lidstrom (3 goals, 49 games)
4. Brian Rafalski (4 goals, 45 games)

*Given at the year's end to the Red Wings forward with the most blocked shots. Award is named for Dan Cleary, who is used to becoming synonymous with "black eye" and/or "broken jaw."*
1. Darren Helm (31)
2. Patrick Eaves (23)
3. Dan Cleary (21)
T4. Pavel Datsyuk (20) 
T4. Drew Miller (20)

*Given at the year's end to the Red Wings player with the most games spent in the press box. Award is named for Derek Meech, who was a healthy scratch 35 times last season.*
1. Derek Meech (15)
2. Brad May (10)
3. Ville Leino (8)
3. Patrick Eaves (7)
4. Kirk Maltby (5) 

*Given at the year's end to the Red Wings goaltender that makes you question how they're in the NHL and you aren't. Award is named for Greg Stefan, who played nine seasons for the Red Wings, but only had three seasons with goals against average under 4.*
1. Chris Osgood (19-7-7, 2.83, .896)              EIGHT NINETY SIX 
2. Jimmy Howard (17-10-4, 2.18, .928) 

*Given at the year's end to the Red Wings forward with the most shots to miss the net. Award is named forMikael Samuelsson, who literally must have been aiming for the 11th row.*
1. Henrik Zetterberg (70)
2. Todd Bertuzzi (56)
3. Pavel Datsyuk (46)
4. Ville Leino (35)
5. Tomas Holmstrom (33)

The GoodFellas Award (final Red Wing to be penalized) :: Patrick Eaves
The Aaron Downey Award (final Red Wing to score a goal) :: Derek Meech