clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Datsyuk takes 3rd straight Selke

Datsyuk cracked a joke or two during his acceptance speech.
Datsyuk cracked a joke or two during his acceptance speech.

At the NHL Awards show on Wednesday night, Pavel Datsyuk took home the Frank J. Selke Trophy for the third consecutive year. The Selke Trophy is awarded to the top defensive forward and Datsyuk certainly was that. Datsyuk's 132 takeaways was first in the league by 49 over fellow Selke finalist Ryan Kesler

Datsyuk's defensive skills stretched beyond the takeaway numbers and it's really no surprise that he will leave Las Vegas with the award. Datsyuk had numerous game changing steals and was an enormous contributor in the defensive zone in terms of providing pressure. 

Datsyuk's 2010 Selke Trophy is the 7th for the Red Wings as Steve Yzerman, Kris Draper, and Sergei Federov (2 times) won the Trophy as well. By winning his third Selke, Datsyuk has solidified himself as one of the best defensive forwards of the past 20 years.  Datsyuk's ties him with Jere Lehtinen for second most Selke Trophies, Bob Gainey leads with four.

Datsyuk did not take home the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, however. The Lady Byng Memorial Trophy is awarded to the player with the best sportsmanship and the winner in 2009-2010 was Martin St. Louis of Tampa Bay. 

Pavel Datsyuk

#13 / Center / Detroit Red Wings



Jul 20, 1978


Three-time Frank J. Selke Trophy winner.


Howard overlooked in favor of Myers for Calder Trophy

As far as the Calder Trophy, the award for the top rookie in the NHL, Tyler Myers (D) of Buffalo took home the hardware over the rookie netminder for Detroit. Despite Howard's very good numbers for a rookie--and for any year player for that matter--he was behind Myers when the final votes came in. The 6'8" defenseman had an excellent year as well but Detroit fans had hoped that Howard would have won.