clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

NHL Awards Open Thread

New, comments
Best. Buffet. Ever
Best. Buffet. Ever

Tonight at 7 on NBCSN, if you're so inclined, you can watch the NHL Awards Show featuring Nickelback and a ton of presenters who are apparently not hosting. Of course if you're Canadian, you get to wait a needless hour and watch on CBC. That's going to make Twitter fun, huh?

It's going to be an awful mess, but it should be hilarious and at least we'll get to see who won what hardware. Here are a list of the awards and their nominees:

Hart Trophy (MVP): Evgeni Malkin, Steven Stamkos, Henrik Lundqvist
Prediction: Malkin

Vezina Trophy (Best Goaltender): Henrik Lundqvist, Pekka Rinne, Jonathan Quick
Prediction: Lundqvist

Ted Lindsay Award (Player-voted MVP): Evgeni Malkin, Steven Stamkos, Henrik Lundqvist
Prediction: Malkin

Norris Trophy (Best Overall Defenseman): Zdeno Chara, Erik Karlsson, Shea Weber
Prediction: Weber (should be Chara)

Jack Adams Award (Best Coach): Ken Hitchcock, Paul MacLean, John Tortorella
Prediction: Hitchcock

GM of the Year (duh): Doug Armstrong, David Poile, Dale Tallon
Prediction: Poile (and I laugh at it)

Masterton (Perseverance, Dedication to Hockey): Daniel Alfredsson, Joffrey Lupul, Max Pacioretty
Prediction: Pacioretty

Foundation Award (Charity): Mike Fisher, Matt Moulson, John-Michael Liles
Prediction: No idea

Selke Trophy (Best Defensive Forward who doesn't suck at offense): David Backes, Patrice Bergeron, Pavel Datsyuk
Prediction: Bergeron wins, Backes fans cry about it, Datsyuk steals it while nobody is looking.

Lady Byng (Sportsmanship): Brian Campbell, Jordan Eberle, Matt Moulson
Prediction: Campbell

Calder Trophy (Rookie of the Year): Adam Henrique, Gabriel Landeskog, Ryan Nugent-Hopkins
Prediction: Landeskog

Remember, the awards are voted on before the playoffs start, so the Henrique and Quick playoff performances have no bearing.