Quick Hits: The More Awards Edition

In Red Wings Land

Around the NHL

Vezina Trophy finalists announced
Connor Hellebuyck, Tuukka Rask and Andrei Vasilevskiy were named finalists for the Vezina Trophy on Friday.

The award, voted on by NHL general managers, is given annually to the goalie voted the best at his position. The winner will be announced during the Conference Finals or before the Stanley Cup Final.

It should be Hellebuyck, and it’s not close.

Willie O'Ree Community Hero Award finalists announced
The three finalists for the third annual Willie O'Ree Community Hero Award were announced Friday.

O'Ree, the NHL's Diversity Ambassador and a 2018 Hockey Hall of Fame inductee, and his committee chose the finalists from a pool of 10 semifinalists based on their demonstration of leadership, collaboration and behavior that has improved lives and helped others reach their potential.

The finalists are Dampy Brar of Calgary, Alexandria Briggs-Blake of Oxon Hill, Maryland, and John Haferman of Columbus.

Each of these three look like they deserve recognition.