Red Wings reduce roster by 21

Detroit to host Carolina on Thursday to open 2020-21 season

[Press Release from the team]

DETROIT — The Detroit Red Wings today assigned forwards Riley Barber, Kyle Criscuolo, Turner Elson, Taro Hirose, Chase Pearson, Evgeny Svechnikov and Dominic Turgeon, defensemen Joe Hicketts, Brian Lashoff and Dylan McIlrath and goaltender Kaden Fulcher to the American Hockey League’s Grand Rapids Griffins. The Red Wings also assigned six players to their taxi squad: forwards Michael Rasmussen and Givani Smith, defensemen Dennis Cholowski and Gustav Lindstrom and goaltenders Kevin Boyle and Calvin Pickard. Additionally, the Red Wings designated forward Darren Helm and defensemen Christian Djoos and Jared McIsaac as non-roster and released goaltender Pat Nagle from his professional tryout.

Detroit’s roster currently stands at 22 players: 13 forwards, seven defensemen and two goaltenders. The Red Wings will open the 2020-21 campaign at Little Caesars Arena on Thursday at 7:30 p.m. when they host the Carolina Hurricanes (FOX Sports Detroit/97.1 The Ticket).

2020-21 Red Wings Roster